An Editor/Author Checklist

As an editor, I note that each different author that I help uses different options on editing issues. For example, some would punctuate a series as "red, white and blue" and others would do "red, white, and blue." Both of these are correct, but an editor may prefer one while the author another. The important thing is to have consistency.

There are numerous such judgmental calls--in grammar, punctuation and spelling--Is it blow job or blowjob?--and the use of dashes and ellipses.

What I suggest is assembling a check list of choices that an editor and author can agree on--which furnishes a record for both to follow, especially the editor. The check list could be pinned at the top of the editor forum for the author and editor to download, fill out, exchange and agree as to how certain editing options are handled.

Would such a checklist (notice the spelling difference from above) be worthwhile? If so, I'd volunteer to be the laboring oar to assemble one, starting from what notes I already have and what input I get from people here--editors and authors--on other editing choices.

As an editor, I note that each different author that I help uses different options on editing issues. For example, some would punctuate a series as "red, white and blue" and others would do "red, white, and blue." Both of these are correct, but an editor may prefer one while the author another. The important thing is to have consistency.

There are numerous such judgmental calls--in grammar, punctuation and spelling--Is it blow job or blowjob?--and the use of dashes and ellipses.

What I suggest is assembling a check list of choices that an editor and author can agree on--which furnishes a record for both to follow, especially the editor. The check list could be pinned at the top of the editor forum for the author and editor to download, fill out, exchange and agree as to how certain editing options are handled.