[Tiger] The Aimless Search by Tiger

• Site Administrator

An interesting poem. I'm not a good one for commenting on poetry, but I couldn't help notice the way the stanzas were structured. Two lines starting with 'Wanting', one starting with 'Needing', another line starting with 'Wanting', and then a personal statement.

Needing is different to wanting. It is more fundamental, more primordial. The first two wanting lines in each stanza are largely to do with what sort of life the narrator wants to live. The 'Needing' lines are all to do with an incentive to live, with the last wanting line showing why. Those third 'wanting' lines deal with the narrator's hopes, and are all to do with leaving their current life. I found the combination quite effective.

Thanks, Tiger!

Like Graeme I am not good with commenting on Poetry, but I really do like this poem Tim. :) Let's see, I too found the structure interesting and effective. We all want and we sometimes need someone to pick us up from the state we're in and "save" us from whatever problem we're having. A very true emotion that you've portrayed.

Again, good job. :wub:

everytime I read this poem, it makes me want to crawl into bed and cry. :( Tim does an excellent job at demonstrating how depression messes with our perception of the world around us.

on a happier note, anyone else notice how it looks like a tree? ^_^

I didn't notice that until you pointed it out Steph, but yeah, I can sort of see that.

When it comes to expressing the effects of depression and how it affects one's perception of the world via poetry I think Tim is GA's undisputed king. He clearly has a good grasp of how to structure his poems. He's constantly experimenting with different styles that always keep his poems fresh even though they often deal with similar topics. His choice of words is very deliberate and effective. He often sends me scrambling for the dictionary and I absolutely love when that happens.

Great job Tim! two-thumbs-up.gif