Harry Patch 1898-2009

Daisy

I mean this as a tribute.

Yesterday the last British veteran of the First World War, Harry Patch, died at age 111. Last week Henry Allingham who also was a world war I and II veteran died at age 113.

I find it quite sad that the last living link has gone. Whenever Remembrance Day (poppy day) comes around I always tend to think of World war II, maybe because my granddad served in the 2nd, or maybe because in school I studied the 2nd more. But the 1st really was a terrible war. A guy on the TV mentioned that the number of dead that we mourn in Afghanistan in a year is about the number who could die in an hour in the first world war trenches.

The headline of the newspaper this morning was "war is organised murder, and nothing else", it was something that Harry Patch had once said.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/the-last-of-the-noblest-generation-1761467.html

It was only once he was 100 that he started talking about the war. He reminds me of my granddad in these senses. He does talk about the war, but not very often and only about little details, nothing about what really happened, his friends and all those that he lost that were close to him while he survived. The latest titbit I got was a tale about the tube in London and whenever he was there using Camden Town station for a free bunk they provided for soldiers. So no hostel fee, and no hard cold floor all the other people there to flee the bombs would have to put up with. It was strange - I'd stood on that very station a few days before he told me that. He also detests war - and his favourite song that he wants played at his funeral is Imagine by John Lennon. He also doesn't like people being cavalier about war or politicians who are too keen to agree believing they don't really know what war is like, the horrificness of it.