Read Only - terrible Word

thatboyChase

Sometimes I'll get files back, stories, edited etc but it will only be in read only format. I try to change it back, change the name, copy and paste it and it never works. If I copy and paste it it'll just strike everything out. Is there a way to re-save it without it being read only?

• Site Administrator

Is this something in Word, or is it at the operating system level? Have you checked if the file is read-only? I'm sure it probably isn't, but it's better to eliminate that as a possibility up front :)

I have no idea, I'm a novice when it comes to Word minus a few things. I was sent a document and it is read only and I believe it was by mistake by my editor. So if you can tell me how to un-check that, or find out where, that'd be helpful.

Check the file attributes in windows file explorer.. (thats what Graeme meant by "operating system level"). You can uncheck the "read only" attribute there if it is set - and if this is causing the "read only" problem you have. Otherwise you can try to do a "save as" in Word and save a copy under a different name.

• Site Administrator

If you're using a Linux/Unix operating system, check the permissions on the file to make sure you have a "w" value set.

eg. -rw-rw-rw. If it is -rw-r--r--, check that you own the file (because those permissions indicate that only the owner can write to the file)

If it's Windows, right-click the file and select "Properties". Down the bottom of the dialogue box there will be a checkbox "Readonly". If that's ticked, then that's why you can't overwrite the file. If it is, uncheck it and you should be able to write to it.

If this is a feature within Word, I'm going to have to leave it to someone else to help you. I haven't used Word for years. However, I did find an article about removing readonly and password-protection from a word document. Hopefully that will help you.