Less than a week to submit 2024 Anthology Entries ×

Imagine Magazine Question for 9/15

JeffsFort

spacer.png

Something that I used to secretly do as a reader was to get an image in my head of what a character in a story actually looks like, then go find a picture of someone who looks similar to what i imagined. Years down the road, as an author I used to do the same thing but post those images to share what my view of some particular characters looked like. Sometimes people would totally agree with my pick, others would share their own to compare, and some would disagree with my effort to taint the image in their imagination. Who knew that would be a thing yet, here we are!

So our question this month is: Do you enjoy seeing representations of an authors character by the author posting a picture of a "Stand In"? Does it add to your own image of what the character looks like to you or does it ruin the mental picture you have created?

(Sorry, this should have been posted a week ago. Sooooooooo overloaded at the moment, LOL!)

• Like 1
  • Love 2

Definitely! I loved to see Comsie’s interpretations of his characters! They helped me along in forming the image of them that he was thinking at the time of writing!

I often passed photos I’d find past him to see what he thought of my ideas. He usually loved my inspiration. He’d then offer one of his own and we’d discuss what we thought, as authors, what the character should look like and then submit that the most important interpretation of the character should always be the readers!

That said, Comsie always loved my vision of Brandon from The Secret Life Of Billy Chase! 

DD273E83-1ED7-43F5-9ABD-C4742E88126C.jpeg

• Love 4

One time I colorized the book cover Comsie chose for Ryan’s Heart. The premium version on Amazon. You won’t find it on GA I don’t think. I used his description in ‘New Kid In School’ to get the colors right. I always liked Comsie’s choice of model for what he wanted Ryan to look like.

cdCNcZZ.jpg