Jump to content

Open Club  ·  61 members  ·  Free

C James Fan Club

600 miles-per-second solar flare causes radio blackout on Earth


hh5

Recommended Posts

Anyone get no radio since thursday 4/11??

 

 

 

On Thursday, the sun let loose the most powerful solar flare of the year, causing a temporary radio blackout on Earth. NASA reports that the solar flare occurred at 3:16 a.m. EDT (0716 GMT). The M6.5 flare was followed by a coronal mass ejection (CME), a solar event capable of raining billions of tons of solar particles on Earth one to three days later. CMEs, which emit clouds of ions, electrons, and atoms, can trigger geomagnetic storms that interfere with radio transmissions, satellites, and electronic system on the ground.
 
NASA anticipates that the charged solar particles will continue to bombard Earth through the weekend. According to estimates by NOAA forecasters, there is a 60 percent chance of geomagnetic storms occurring on April 13.
 
 

 

 
Link to comment
  • 4 months later...

Sun Unleashes Another Solar Storm Aimed at Earth

The sun fired off an intense solar storm at Earth Wednesday (Aug. 21) — the second in two days — hurtling billions of tons of charged particles at our planet, but should not pose a threat to people on the ground, NASA says.
 
The solar eruption, called a coronal mass ejection, occurred yesterday at 1:24 a.m. EDT (0524 GMT) and sent charged particles streaking outward at 380 miles per second. That's just over 1.3 million mph (2.2 million km/h). The solar fallout from the sun storm is expected to reach Earth within the next three days.

 

Link to comment
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Our Privacy Policy can be found here: Privacy Policy. We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue..