The only real way a author knows that you have read and enjoy their works is if you email them and let them know. A lot of good stories have not been finished just because the author never knew that they were enjoyed. You can set up a hotmail or yahoo email to use just for that purpose if you would like. I don't think I can stress this enough, let the authors know when you enjoy their work. :D

• Site Administrator

Amen to that!

It's only through encouragement that many authors write more. Or, at least, share more.

• 2 months later...

I agree. Being a net author myself, I thrive on feedback. I'll always keep writing anyway but it's inspiring to know that people appreciate what you do. I'm sure most authors can relate. Especially if you enjoy something you read.

--Ty

• Like 1
  • 1 month later...

What can I say. An author can put hours into each and every chapter he writes, and when you don't get feedback, it makes you wonder if it's worth all the effort. I've worked with several new authors who quit writing what I thought were great starts to decent stories because no one emailed them. It may be that people are just lurkers, but when there's no other way to determine if your story is getting read, you end up assuming no one is reading. I'm sure we've all lost good material, due to that fact.

Please respond to what you read.

• 2 months later...

I have started a story on Nifty (Fall little star, rise great sun) and have had so little feedback that I am in considerable doubt that anyone likes it.

I used to add at the end of my story that All mails got answered including flamers. I think its just as important that you write to tell an author that you do not like a story as it is to say you do, though it helps if your critisism is constructive.

lastly, as authors I think its most important to reply to those who do write to thank us for our efforts. I have written to authors and recieved no response. :angry:

• Site Administrator