Body Language

LJH

I don't know if this is the correct place to talk about body language. In my view, body language is a very important part of how a writer identifies their characters, hence, as an editor, I would have placed it in the editing section, however, maybe the topic will be kicked out of that section, so to play it safe, here it is, in the lounge.

Who notices body language anyway, for goodness sake. Oh, sorry, I do. It identifies our state of mind, physical fitness, and personal body image, also our habits and preferred postures. Some (but not all) types of posture are:

Approach

Withdrawal

Expansion

Contraction

They cover basic motivation and mood very neatly.

For instance: The stiff, erect body of a military man whose ramrod back betrays his profession even when he is out of uniform, or a sulking, slouching adolescent, round shoulders and concave middle. Imagine a sulky, concave military man...or the stiff, ramrod attention of an adolescent. Reverse the postures and you see how the teenager now becomes a pillar of society and the military man loses his authority.

Sitting, standing and lying down is the first clue to character and personality. It reflects whether you are feeling confidant, submissive, optimistic or depressed.

Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn't a relaxed, upright posture suggest confidence? We say CHIN UP when we mean adopt a hopeful, assertive attitude. We say SPINELESS when we imply the opposite state of mind and posture when a person cannot stand up to life.

I'm thinking of writing a few articles on body language and posting them here on GA. If anyone feels that this is a necessary part of writing, let me know. If you feel it a waste of time, also let me know.

Louis

• Like 2

Louis,