Choosing a/Dealing with College

Finn

TL;DR Version: skip to the bolded.

Soooo... I graduated from high school last year. I've spent the last... ten months not doing much of anything serious; the first few were spent vaguely thinking of what I want to do (while evidently roaming and toying around the net). Late in the year though, I found myself dragged into helping someone for monetary reward, an arrangement which ceased about... two-three weeks ago.

Most of that money vanished god-knows-where, but some of it transfered into Uncle Sam's hands. In exchange, Uncle Sam threw a few documents at me, including a lisence to work and an SSN. (I immigrated to the United States at the age of 4.)

With said tidbits, I've finally found it appropriate to seek higher education. I've filled out the FAFSA, as I've been told that most colleges would require it so they know if I'm eligible for aid or not. I can't drive (I've never really had an interest in learning, mostly because I couldn't do it legally and doing things illegally just... bothers me), though my dad's told me he'll be working with me on that as soon as his car's repaired. I don't have a job at the moment, though I'll probably be seeking one over the next week or so.

But, the biggest issue here is what to do about the college. I'm extremely unsure about anything there--in school, I ignored most of the counselors's pushing as I thought I wouldn't really be able to pay for it (I wasn't a citizen or a resident and, at the time, wouldn't have been able to really work to pay for it--I'm not sure if these are legitimate excuses or not, and even if they are... they might still be excuses).

So, anyway, I've spent the last couple days somewhat searching for a college, but I'm not sure how I should choose one, or where I'm supposed to turn to for help. Neither am I really sure what I wanna be, and don't really to make any... "wrong" decisions.