Should Noobs Attend Writer Conferences?

Hello community!

I'm an aspiring author looking to network and gain advice about fiction writing.  Anybody have input on the value of attending a writing conference coming up in SF in February?  Registration is upwards of $700 and would like to know from others if this is a worth-while investment.

Thanks!

• Like 1

It might be better to first invest in a copy of the Writer's Handbook. It's similar in structure, as different successful authors provide the various essays on form, outlining, and so forth. It's like attending all of their lectures for a much lower price ;)

Edited by AC Benus
  • Like 2
  • Site Administrator

I'm conflicted with this. I've attended an author conference before, and while I appreciated the marketing information and was eagerly anticipating a three hour lecture on world-building, I was advanced enough that it was all information I already knew. The amount of information in other lectures might have been overwhelming for a complete newb, however, because it did rely on knowing some of the basics already.

I think, especially for the amount you're talking about for registration, that you'd be better off getting recommendations on the best creative and technical writing books and then consider online courses in specific information you still need more help with. It's also important to join some writing groups to get honest feedback on your writing because it is hard to know what you're doing wrong... if you don't know that you're doing it wrong.