Less than a week to submit 2024 Anthology Entries ×

Which real life person do you draw the physical traits of your characters from?

LJCC

This pending story I've been writing for almost a year and a half now--yes, it's that long...I'm a lazy writer--well, I was inspired to base the physical attributes of one of the main characters to that of my friend who has Waardenburg Syndrome. There are types of symptoms, but mostly the one he has is basically...the lucky bastard's been blessed with the most lightest shade of blue eyes. It's lighter than that of Paris Jackson (she has Waardenburg as well). So I somewhat associated it as a physical trait to a main character in my story.

I have this problem that I need to base what my characters look like from real life. And since they're living inside my head, might as well put a face to it. So I need to imagine their facial expressions when I'm writing. I feel like sometimes I'm a producer scouting for an actor playing the role to a character I'm writing about when I'm googling for references. I'm like, "Hmmm...this German actor looks good but there's something missing. Let's go other countries. How about Switzerland. Yes, let's photoshop his eyes to dark brown and adjust his jawline."

So have you ever based any characters attributes or physical traits in your stories from real life?

Edited by LJCC
  • Like 2

Yes, all the time.  I don't usually google people but i use myself, my husband, my family, friends. Bits and pieces of people i've met or seen somewhere. I think that's pretty normal. I do not do full descriptions of people .. there are touches of things. Like maybe eye colour is mentioned, or sharp elbows, hair colour ... but never a full description. You need to allow readers to fill in some blanks, as it helps them to make the story theirs as well. Unless of course there is a physical trait that you must describe as it is integral to the character and story, such as the illness, scar or the limp.

• Like 2