What to do if you get arrested

I want to create a public service article about what people need to know if/when they get arrested.

I am by no means an expert in this area and would like for others to add their advice and expertise.

When its done, we'll clean it up and make an article out of it.

OK. You are arrested. How you got here and whether or not you are guilty is moot. What you do now makes all the difference.

First: Don't panic. This isn't going to be your best day but you must keep your head.

Second: Don't be a smart ass. Don't make it personal with the cops.

Third: Listen, and talk very little. Keep your answers to short declarative sentences or yes and no. Anything you say may be held against you regardless of how badly misquoted or taken out of context it may be.

Fourth:the cops are NOT your friends. They will LIE to you. They will tell you that they have evidence and witnesses that they don't have or will promise you that it will go easier on you to extract a quick and easy confession.

Fifth: If you are accused of a crime in which forensic evidence will clear you, volunteer it. If you haven't fired a gun or your DNA will exonerate you, offer it up. This usually tells cops that they are barking up the wrong tree and can clear you.

Sixth: When you request an attorney, cops can no longer question you. Some people will advise you to request an attorney immediately. It is usually better to listen to the cops and let them tip their hand. You will at least want to hear what you are charged with.

Seventh: Don't count on the honesty or integrity of co-defendants. Many people when questioned will panic and try to dump everything in your lap.

Eighth: DON'T LIE. If you are caught in a lie, your credibility is shot. Either answer truthfully or don't answer. This is called the Fifth Amendment Right Against Self Incrimination. Don't assert your fifth amendment right unless you are backed into a corner. Once you have taken the Fifth, say nothing else.