Day of Silence

Xiao_Chun

What should the teachers do on the Day of Silence?

I am a college professor, and I have to teach on April 18, so I can't really observe the Day of Silence. But what can I do? What other high school and college teachers usually do on the Day of Silence?

Please share any ideas or personal experience.

Michael.

• Site Administrator

One suggestion I saw is that during classes, things should be as normal, but outside of classes, the day of silence can be observed.

A family friend who teaches stats at uni is apparently marking the day - he has to teach - by using statistics about discrimination against, educational success failure of, queer students for his classes tomorrow. Takes some planning I'd have thought though :-)

I did know nothing about the Day of silence.

Then I made a research and found get organised

As the the "speaking cards" say :

"Please understand my reasons for not speaking today. I am participating in the Day of Silence, a national youth movement protesting the silence faced by lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and their allies. My deliberate silence echoes that silence, which is caused by harassment, prejudice, and discrimination. I believe that ending the silence is the first step toward fighting these injustices. Think about the voices you are not hearing today. What are you going to do to end the silence? "

And to the question "what to do in school " I found an answer :

"While some students choose to be silent for the day, some participants are simply silent for part of the day, during lunch, or at community events. Students may also participate in"Breaking the Silence" rallies, events at which students come together at the day's end to express themselves and share their experiences with members of their local communities."

Does it help ?

We'll see. Hopefully it'll work well.