My thanks to Billy for a Great idea

JamesSavik

In a thread I started a few weeks ago called the Edge of the genre?, I asked the question: has gay fiction gone stale?

I asked this question to get people thinking- especially myself. Of late I've not produced much. A lot of it has to do with confidence. When I used to write, I didn't think about it. Then I studied the craft of writing: characterization, setting, yadda, yadda and of course, writing yadda. Then I began thinking about it too much. End result: paralysis by analysis.

I did get what I was looking for from the subject: First- that there is nothing at all dead about a genre- especially one that is growing as fast as gay fiction. Second, some valuable insights.

During our discussions a few weeks ago, something Billy said has kept coming back to me.

there are a few people running around with their heads cut off trying to do something new.

i would say that it has gone stale+ but not because we've reached the limits. we've set up our own fence out of stakes connected by a single rope, and we refuse to take the effort to step over or under it

my remedies to this problem fall under two subheadings.

a ) what gay fiction must be.

b ) what any fiction must be

I don't write gay fiction. I am a gay writer that writes fiction. My stories may or may not have gay characters, protagonists or relationships. I'm not trying to write good gay fiction. I'm trying to write good fiction. Period.

lets acknowledge different ways of telling a story, different forms. need examples?

-a historical document

And here we are. I've been working on a sci-fi story for some time- written, re-written and re-rewritten chapters only to think.. this just isn't fresh enough... looks like author A's work, this reminds me of author B's classic.

In this last part Billy has given me an powerful idea that transforming the story that I have into something much more powerful and dynamic.

[sceerchhh... sorry changing gears.]