Outsourcing your own job

MikeL

http://video.yahoo.c...913052/13085644

In tough economic times, it's good to see that some Youtube posts that can poke fun at our misfortunes. The above tongue-in-check news reporting is good for a laugh. Unfortunately, it is true.

I know of several high volume, personal tax return preparers, including respected CPA firms, who outsource tax return preparation to accountants in India. The Indians are very knowledgeable on US tax law and produce excellent work. A US CPA can scan a client's documents, e-mail them to India, and receive a completed return the next morning. There's no midnight oil for the US accountant, great earnings for his Asian "back office", and fast service for the client. It's a win-win-win for all involved and, as long as there is a shortage of qualified accountants in the US, no one is hurt.

Edited by MikeL
  • Like 1

I'm studying a proposal for a corporation to outsource some of it's back office functions to India. What intrigued me was that it wasn't really the direct cost savings that were most attractive (not that they aren't), but it was the flexibility. A company can expand or contract and the outsourcing firm in India will add or transfer the people needed to do the job. No under-utilized employees in a downturn, no overworked ones in an expansion.

Outsourcing like this definitely takes a toll on the US, but as you note Mike, it is largely symbiotic. In the past, the US relied on direct foreign aid to assist (or bribe) other countries into our sphere of influence. Now, we can outsource instead. Instead of the money going into some dictator's pocket, the money creates jobs, and a stronger middle class in countries like India and Brazil.