Message Board Topic 9/21

Comsie

As an author, you may find yourself growing and expand with every new idea that you put down in a story. With every project that you complete, and with every idea you have for other projects in the future. I, personally, always welcome a new challenge. Trying out things that I've never done before is exhilirating, to say the least. Even when it causes big problems that need to be worked out to get it just right. Even THAT part keeps me energized. It's how we all grow into the writer's we all hope to be.

But, even though we're always moving forward, there may still be a lot of avenues that we're constantly avoiding. Maybe without even knowing it. Blindspots in our writing that we've never explored or expressed. Feedback is always a good way to comment on what you've already written, but does it really help you discover the potential for something totally different? How can someone go about discovering their own blindspots? And once you find them..would you pursue them? Would you tackle a story theme that you've never written before, just to see if you could do it? Or is it beter to write with comfort and ease, allowing the feelings pour out freely without stumbling over unfamiliar terrtory? Let us know!

Hmm... interesting. I think that it is difficult to identify blindspots because of the nature of the beast. I am all for stretching myself out of my comfort zone... I don't think I have one. I like to try different things... writing from different perspectives in the same story... chaging tenses, changing persons... stretching language and grammar.