Suggestions

Write. Lots :)

Splurge all your ideas onto a page or into your computer.

Then get a beta to make sure that the story is consistent and to advise you on how to make the flow better etc.

Then get an editor to polish the grammar etc

Then panic

• Like 3

Hi. I am a newbie. As an amateur writer I am attempting a novel. Any suggestions?

First: Ivan - welcome

Second: Ignore the dark one Nephylim - okay just kidding. She gave you some good advice - thought I would ignore the whole panic thing.

My suggestion is get yourself a beta reader -someone who will be honest with you, who understands the structure of how to write a novel, including plot, sub plots, character developments etc. Some one who is not going to be afraid to say - this part isn't going to work and here's why.

Editor is very important too.

One question I have is are you looking to post it on line or are you trying to get published? I ask because they are two very different things. Many of the very good stories here would have trouble in the rigid world of publishing because they violate too many 'rules'. If you are just trying to write for because it makes you feel good, then you can pretty much do as you please, write as you see/feel it.

But if your goal is to be a published author - then buy a few books on writing, read what they have to say about structure and what not and then - again as Nephy said - practice by writing a lot and soliciting feed back.

There are two very important elements here - one is vision and the other is execution.

Vision is the plot, basics, concepts etc. If it's just a rehash of a common theme filled with lots of cliches i.e. nerdy, beaten down boy falls for hot super popular jock and they fall madly in love and everything works out and they live happily ever after, then it's probably not going to do so well. The plot needs to be interesting and can't be too predictible.