Being an author...

advocatus diaboli

i disagree with about 90% of that video.

Yes - i write on anything i can.

I actually wrote my first novel in a place like that, we were on holiday there. there is a community of writers, apparently i am in it. i call it GA and in November, i call it NanoWriMo  at the pub. finishing and self publishing is satisfying as fuck.

of course he looks like a shit mess, he's a fucking hipster wanna-be "uh i'm a writer even though i never finish anything". anyone shows up looking that unwashed and trying too hard to fit in it gonna get shot. My friend Morgan came to a meet dressed as a gay Aladdin - just for kicks. i wear my cowboy boots to the pub.

no one with a brain uses a typewriter anymore. you'd have to make onion-skin copies... terrifying.

I think you're making wildly baseless assumptions, Sasha.

"there is a community of writers, apparently i am in it. i call it GA and in November, i call it NanoWriMo"

Not everyone will have that. Personally, I choose not to participate in NanoWriMo, so I don't (voluntarily, I do concede) have that community. It goes without saying that not everyone will have GA, fit into GA or be comfortable with GA. Which is fine. In that video, you see a group of 3 and then the main character in the video, alone. Some will have a community they fit into, some won't.

"finishing and self publishing is satisfying as fuck"

No one said otherwise. The video gave no indication that it wasn't. It skipped that part, so no indicate either way was given. I think this goes without saying, really.

"of course he looks like a shit mess, he's a fucking hipster wanna-be"

I fail to see what this has to do with anything...

"'uh i'm a writer even though i never finish anything'"