Were you on a high school swim team?

Guest kayden

Anyone on the swim team when they were in high school wanna help me a bit?

I'm writing a story right now about a boy who joined the freshmen swim team. I'm trying to be as accurate as possible in my portrayal of this, but I have no experience on a high school swim team, and my internet research has produced disappointing results. I'm hoping to get some answers to a few questions I have from somebody(s) who has been on a high school swim team. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1. How often and when were practices? (Did you meet daily, every other day, etc.? Did you meet only in the mornings, only in the afternoons, both?)

2. How often were and on which days were swim meets held? ("Meets" are the competitions, right?) And also, did you travel to different to schools to compete, kind of like the football team, etc. does? (I'm asking directly about the freshmen swim team...)

3. Did the boys' and girls' teams practice or compete together, or were they separated in both practices and competitions?

4. How often were you doing practices in the pool, how often were the workouts in the weight room, etc?

I may have more questions later, but for now any replies that'll answer any or all of those questions will make me very happy! :) Thanks!

We didn't have a pool. We had four sports: footbrawl, bastardball, faceball and the sack.

Ah, so you were one of those people who actually had FUN in high school.

My sister was on a swim team. They had two practices a day, except Sunday. One in the am before school, one in the pm after school (early afternoon on Saturday). Usually one practice per week (at least) is "dry-lands," where the coaches basically attempt to kill you on dry land instead of drowning you. Practices in the am were usually 60 minutes, in the pm they were 120-150 minutes. Weeks with meets generally saw shorter pm practices.