Clementi trial starts today

option

Jury selection begins Tuesday in a New Brunswick, N.J., courtroom for the trial of Dahrun Ravi, the Rutgers University student who with a silent flip of his laptop webcam secretly watched his roommate in a moment of gay intimacy, and unwittingly set in motion a series of events that would make him a national symbol of cyber-bullying.

http://abcnews.go.com/US/tyler-clementi-bullying-trial-begins-today/story?id=15752236&singlePage=true

I'm far from a legal expert, but it seems like the one charge that really should stick no matter what is the invasion of privacy. Whether he gets labelled as only a prankster or as homophobic, it seems pretty obvious that privacy WAS violated here. Get that one to stick and the witness tampering and hindering prosecution might too.

Would it matter if he wasn't labelled homophobic? ...if only because it seems like whether or not he was, what he did definitely was. I reckon our resident legal expert ought to weigh in (that means you, Andy ;):P).

• Like 1

Posted Image ........Tragic case on both sides, a stupid prankster and a stupid gay kid that offed himself. But the prankster violated the others privacy.. and for that he should be held accountable as it is against the law. As far as a hate crime, nope, don't agree here, he may have been a bit homophobic but his actions did not seem to warrent that of said crime.His juvneille antics are middle school ones, he learned nothing from his higher grade before entering college, a case in point to teach the younger generation of bullying effects.
  • Like 1