so, about that feedback...

redlightfeeling

As it says in Kevin's (afriendlyface) signature, "Remember our authors thrive on feedback, so please drop by the forums and let them know what you think."

Well, I was just wondering what kind of feedback is expected for authors. I always wonder if authors want encouragement, constructive criticism, or a lot of both. I always want to make a post to an author saying "I'ld love to see this character have a clearer characterization to them" but am never sure if that is acceptable. I think that if I was an author I'd definitely want encouragement and people telling me that they've read it and liked it, but I think I'd want criticism too. So, I just wanted to ask what is expected from readers. And if authors do want criticism, should readers post it publicly or send an e mail?

Well, mostly I want ANY feedback--because I like to know if someone is actually reading my stories.

But what I would LOVE to see would be someone telling me what they liked about my story and what they did not like. If they see something that was confusing or boring or anything that made them start to lose interest, I want to know about it. I don't want someone to just say "It sucked." If they thought it sucked, I want to know why. On the other hand, if they liked it, I want to know why. I can't improve on anything if I don't know what works and what doesn't--and my friends lie to me SO nicely :hug:

Well I really like positive feedback, but my favorite kind of feedback is the flames.....they make me think about what I can do to get better. I know some people do it out of spite, but I still try to look for something useful in what they're saying and make my next chapter better than the one I posted the week before.

All feedback is good. if I had to chose between.."I love your story, Keep up the good work!" or..."I can't really see myself there, could you add more detail?"