Dogs with aggressive reputations

I'm not going to bother with a poll, because there are too many dog breeds to list. However, I will list some that people often consider aggressive and a couple that I know can be aggressive. I'm going to share my thoughts on some breeds often considered aggressive along with my opinion and what experts say about the breeds. Keep in mind that I am not a dog expert and that I had to look some of this stuff up.

I've noticed that most of these breeds are considered intelligent:

Pit bull- There are actually three kinds of pit bulls (see below). These three breeds are often used for as fighting dogs. This fact adds to their bad reputation. It's a sad situation, because it's really not their fault.

• American Pitbull Terrier- This breed is the one most often called a pitbull. For anyone who's actually owned one (and not taken it to fights), it's known for being fiercely loyal and is actually good around children. They are the largest type of pitbull, but they're still definitely considered a medium breed. They're also highly intelligent and thus highly receptive to advanced obedience training.

american-pit-bull-terrier.jpg

• American Staffordshire Terrier- This breed is actually known to have a better temperament than popular breeds like cocker spaniels, beagles, and collies. They are extremely human-oriented, friendly, and relatively easy to train... hardly a nightmare breed.

amstaff1.jpg

• Staffordshire bull terrier- This is my favorite type of pitbull, and the one I have the most experience with. Again, they're not aggressive (unless trained for fighting). They are extremely intelligent dogs. They're also known for courage, which makes them protective family dogs.

StaffBullTerradult5.jpg