3D Printers - My Inner Geek Wants One

• Site Administrator

I'm an engineer and I tend to keep current on technology.  I've been watching 3D printing for the last few years.  I can tell you that we have 3 massive 3d printers at work that are basically running 24/7.  The amount of stuff we can do with them would blow your mind.  But the interesting thing is that there is a company out there that brings the power of this stuff right to your home.

https://www.prusaprinters.org/

The guy in charge of our industrial grade machines has one of these at home.  As do 3 others that also use work's 3d printers.  That's a pretty big ringing endorsement for me.

Of course, the fact that the demo picture is printing a dragon helps ;)

I plan on picking up a Prusa printer when I have completed stage 2 of my mancave project.  I need a nice temperature regulated place to keep my new printer before I go and buy it.  I figure putting it in the new workshop I'm designing and building would be the best bet.

Is anyone here playing with 3d printing yet?

• Like 5

I personally would have little use. It’s amazing technology though. Replicating limbs at an affordable cost. A friend replicated a new part for a machine he had, long discontinued. The technology is also becoming much more affordable. Uses are endless.

• Like 3
  • Site Administrator
2 minutes ago, BlindAmbition said:

Uses are endless.

They sure are.  for games like @BHopper2, you can print your own miniatures.  In fact, there is a company out there that specializes in selling you 3d models to print for gaming.

Just one of many:

http://www.fatdragongames.com/fdgfiles/?page_id=2567

• Like 3
  • Love 1
56 minutes ago, Myr said:

They sure are.  for games like @BHopper2, you can print your own miniatures.  In fact, there is a company out there that specializes in selling you 3d models to print for gaming.

Just one of many:

http://www.fatdragongames.com/fdgfiles/?page_id=2567