I know nothing!

Graeme

• Site Administrator

I've been an IT professional for almost 25 years now, which means I know absolutely nothing about modern technology.

We're planning a major vacation for 2008 and we're going to get our boys handheld games console to help them cope with the travel days (and any rest days). We were originally looking at the Nintendo DS Lite, but our youngest boy (who will be turning 7 soon) indicated he wanted a PSP, which I eventually worked out meant Playstation Portable.

What do people recommend? The eldest boy wants Transformers and Pokemon on his games console, and I suspect any sort of racing game will be fine for the youngest boy. I believe that for some DS games that (if they both hand DS consoles) they would be able to play against each other. However, if this is the case, most games would require that they both have the same game card installed. Does anyone know of a website that would list the games where this is NOT the case (ie. both can play even if only one of them has the game card installed in their DS)?

Looking for experts -- or anyone who actually owns one of these things :P

A lot of DS games have the ability to play head-to-head with only one cartridge. Best place to look up info on video games is www.ign.com

Pokemon is exclusively a DS game (it's made by Nintendo, makers of the DS). I have a DS lite and love mine. And for Pokemon, you actually want to get them on Pokemon Diamond and one Pokemon Pearl so they can trade back and forth.

Yep. If he wants Pokemon, you'd have to get a Nintendo. There are a lot of racing games in DS too. MarioKart I think is there.

AFAIK, PSP doesn't have a lot of cool games right now.

I don't buy handhelds anymore though. :P The last one I owned was a gameboy, and I abandoned it for the PC.

• Site Administrator
A lot of DS games have the ability to play head-to-head with only one cartridge. Best place to look up info on video games is www.ign.com