A Great Teacher slips...and says "Gay"

xander

Recently in school, we changed over to a new email system that is really difficult to manuever easily, compared to our old system. Even the teachers think that it's stupid. Well, I have this really great pair of teachers for my 2nd and 3rd period class (it's a joined, double classroom class) and a student and one of the teachers, let's call her Mrs. H. were talking about it and she accidentily slipped and said that she thought the new email system was quote, gay, unquote. Now, I know this teacher kinda well, and I know that she didn't really mean to be derrogatory, or gay-bashing or anything, that it's just the thing that's been programmed into a lot of our minds to say when we dislike something, but I felt compelled to send her an email concerning it anyway.

I'm a student in your american studies class and being gay, i'm offended at your use of 'gay' in a derrogatory way today. it's bad enough that other kids use it in a derrogatory way on a frequent and daily basis, not to mention that homosexuality is almost completely shunned in this part of the country, so we definately dont need a teacher to feed the hate towards gay people.

thanks

an offended GAY student

I did this from a new anonymous email I had created for myself. I got a reply:

Dear student,

I am very sorry. Though I meant no harm, the usage of the word was very inappropriate. Would an apology to the class be appropriate or would you rather that I drop the issue? Please know that I will choose my words with more care in the future. Again, I apologize for hurting you. Truly, I am sorry and quite ashamed of myself.

Mrs. H