Degree in creative writing / lit.?

How many of you majored in literature or language? For those of us aspiring writers, won't an actual degree in writing, literature or anything similar help? I mean, the advantages of taking a real degree in writing will obviously exceed that of taking a few online courses or just knowing the craft through some self-help websites. While a lot of big authors are self-taught, I think a real degree in writing or literature would help a lot more.

So I was wondering, how many of you people have a degree in writing or lit.? I am studying a subject that is completely different from any of 'em -- so I was wondering, if I should do a minor or something in English when I go abroad. Or should I be satisfied learning things from the net. Because I think taking an actual degree will make me more determined and motivated and help me learn my flaws and strengths as there will be people to monitor me, and real people to learn lessons from; but at the same time, a new degree requires so much hard work and money.

Thanks.

• Like 1

As a reader it seems to me the most important thing is to have something to say. No writing course can teach you that - it comes from within.

Then, of course, you need to be able to say it in an engaging and entertaining way. Unless you're writing instruction manuals or audit reports you have to be able to grab and hold the reader's attention. Yes, good writing courses and writing degrees will surely help but they are not sufficient, nor necessary, and will require commitment and money. And a poor or mediocre course will probably do more harm than good.  As you said yourself, a lot of big writers - including Nobel Laureates - never went near a writing course. What they did, though, was study language and people.