Open Club  ·  282 members  ·  Free

Mark Arbour Fan Club

A Touching Tribute to Mark Arbour

Many of you guys are aware of Adam Phillips, a new author here at Gay Authors. Last night, he posted at another group this touching tribute to Mark. I really thought I'd like to share what Adam wrote with all of you.

This will be long. f**king deal with it or move on. 03.gif

I've been interacting with people through Yahoo groups for 7 years now. I'd been hanging out at various places on the Net a couple of years before that, places where I ran into Ed and a couple of others, but it was 2003 when I began writing Crosscurrents and talking to some of you people.

Ridiculous. Seven and a half years it will have taken for me to finish this damn thing. That's absurd, but it is what it is. I've walked some road during that time.

Mark. What to say about Mark. Where to start? I have something specific to say, but I can't say it without saying some other shit too.

Mark has had my back and been my bud from all the way back to 2003. He is a f****n Man. We clicked early and often. 03.gif He's definitely First Tier in my book of Internet Companions. Over the years I've disappeared occasionally and he's disappeared occasionally, and as the Dylan song says--sort of--I've seen a lot of women but he never 'scaped my mind.

So back already over a year ago Mark asked me to look at his first 3 chapters of Chronicles of an Academic Predator. He knew I'd tell him what I thought even if he didn't like what I thought.

I actually liked the three okay. I wrote him back in some detail, trying to be helpful and encouraging.

And, man, did he go to town. Boy got the writing bug.

I liked his stuff okay. Wasn't my favorite stuff, but I liked it okay. I had my demurrers here and there that kept me from engaging with his stuff 100%. Mostly topic and technique stuff. And I wasn't always crazy about the narrative pacing and the motivations driving characterization.