What do/would you call your significant other?

For me it would be boyfriend unless we were married and then husband. I really don't like the term "partner". It seems too formal and business like to me. What about you guys?

I'd say Husband... I can't stand the word, "Lover," and sometimes Partner seems too formal/downgraded. Depends on the social climate I'm in though, but I'd much rather just call him by his first name.. lol. But, I'm a woman married to a man, so it's pretty acceptable to just say, "Husband." :)

I agree with Krista, Lover is definite NO!. Make's it sound like he a sex partner and nothing more. Generally I say other half or husband interchangeably. We plan to get married this summer, but after 16+ years I think we can use husband even without the formal document. I don't think Partner is too formal, it doesn't bother me and a lot of people use that term - most of them either gay or gay friendly people. My one problem with it is that most people know I am a lawyer and when they hear partner, they assume law partner, so I tend to avoid it.

Boyfriend for now. We're committed to each other, but we don't live together or anything like that. I think if we end up living together and combine our finances and really settle down and such, then I think partner is more appropriate. Partner sounds too long-term and interconnected to be applied to people who don't live together or not been together for a long time.

Edited by TetRefine

Well, I use husband (or with people I know well--hubby :P)

Before that: fiance

Before that: boyfriend (or my guy :P)

To him: sweetie, gorgeous, sexy, etc...the list goes on and on--I'm sure I've made up some too, hehe, depends on my mood. Though, most often I use his name.

But I indirectly call him papa all the time at the moment as that's how I refer to him around our son. :D (Errm, yes, I may have slipped on the indirectly part on occasion :P parent brain = foggy sometimes. )

• Like 1