How Do You Write A Story?

How do you guys (and gals ;) ) write stories? I know you start off with a outline, but what's on the outline? I'm an ok writer when it comes to easays for school, but I've never really written any kind of fiction, and I'de like to give it a shot. Or at least see what's involved...

Thanks, Flip

Good for you Flip! First thing for a writer is never listen to advice. Okay, that said, let me give you some tips.......

I usually start with what I call the hook. A single situation of event which has a little pathos or an unusual twist which I think is interesting. In Stocking Stuffer, the whole story was just supposed to be the need to warm a boy's cold toes and the only thing at hand the family Christmas stockings.

If you are going to try a short piece first that's really all you need.

A longer story needs a plan of battle in the outline. What is the ultimate goal of the story? To solve the mystery? To vanquish the foe? Get that down first and then add the things that you need to cover along the way. Character traits in a little character sketch help keep things straight too. It gets to be real hard to remember who is blond and blue and who is blond and green, etc....

But the most important thing of all for me is to just sit down and do it. Once I start to type the story often tells itself and sometimes goes where even I least expect it too.

Write, write, write.... because we LOVE to read!

Looking forward to your story!

Hey Flip,

First of all get your self a notebook and some pens. Keep track of your charaters and locations in the notebook.

The first thing to do with a story is to create a short plot.

The base plot for Oracles is that Dale has been fighting with his sisters. He leaves home to get away from everything and to find answers to his questions, ie, visit one of the Oracles, hence the title of the series.

Next choose where the story will take place - New York, Paris, another world.