Potential Holiday Theme Story Event

Since the Halloween event worked out so well, I want to see how far we can do these. I wrote this in my blog as well:

I am thinking about starting some Holiday Story Themes:

Like Halloween themes, writers will be limited to an individual theme to write, Only 1 writer per theme and 1st come 1st served.

I am also expanding the field from 8 to 32 Themes, so the field will be much more crowded than before. There will be traditional themes like "New version of A Christmas Carol", new humorous themes "Daddy Kissing Santa Claus) :P (Hey, I'm a GA writer), unconventional themes "Making Latke with a Friend", and Dark themes "Deaths of the New Year".

There is a special part in this one, I want to let the readers decide if our stories fit the theme elements. In this unofficial GA story writing event, I am also tempted to do something special for the best Holiday writer, but must clear it with Renee (I don't want to make this an unofficial contest, it is sounding like one in my mind, but it should be for fun).

Anyone think I am nuts for attempting this?

Edited by W_L

Nuts - no.  

But don't limit things too much - maybe mommy wants to kiss Mrs Claus!

You might want to think about limiting it to one writer per topic - I think a group of stories about Daddy kissing Santa would be the bee's knees!

Edited by Kitt
  • Like 1

As a suggestion, you may want to limit themes again to 8 or 10 and after they are taken - open the themes up for additional writers to pick any of the themes. One theme may get more responses than others but at least every theme will have one author. Besides, you may get an author that would like to take on a second theme for fun. Just an idea.

edit to remind that depending on the end date, this may compete with assorted Holiday goings on. You may not fill 32 vacant slots anyway, that is awfully ambitious thinking.

Edited by Ron