Knowing your readership.

As an author I am very interested in the readers who visit the site. The more information provided the better I can gauge the potential audience. I would be very interested to know the breakdown - percentage pie chart - of site visitors by country. It's a one off request, because I would suspect visitors to be 80% American, Canadian, given it's a US site, but is this a correct assumption?

It helps language wise, because whilst I do not write in American English I find myself increasingly adopting American terms. For example I will use mom in place of mum, elevator in place of lift, apartment in place of flat, although in that latter example it is uniquely British to call an apartment a flat!

I wonder if that information could be provided?

• Like 4

I kinda straddle both sides of the Atlantic and dabble in American and UK English. I try to keep it true to where the story is based but it can get a little confusing at times.

I don't have a problem when I'm reading though, and I think that the majority of members on this site would be similarly untroubled. Most North Americans nowadays are able to recognise uniquely British words like lorry, lift, or flat, and even some of the more colloquial phrases or swear words like w**ker and bo**ocks. I don't think you should worry too much about where your readers are situated, even if the site is 80% North American, stories that are written in UK English are very popular. It would be interesting to have a breakdown though.

• Like 5
4 minutes ago, BlindAmbition said:

Maybe it’s my Canadian father with British ancestry, or Irish partner. I’d rather you use your original terms. Like bloody hell, mate, or flat.

Now the Irish have some great words!

• Like 3
  • Love 1
7 hours ago, BlindAmbition said:

I’d rather you use your original terms. Like bloody hell, mate, or flat.