Ever bothered how stories describe characters?

I read a lot that read out like a Grindr profile.

His height was 5'7", Age 28. Etcetera...

You know those? I just feel like there are better ways to go about someone descriptively. I mean, no one analyzes someone like that unless they're a robot. It just detaches from a character, I think. It's good for a bio but not in-story.

What about your thoughts, guys?

• Like 3

Hmm...

As an author I try to describe other characters from another characters POV... 'the man looked to be a bit older than me but not much, he was definitely at least a foot taller though and his muscles well..." :P

Or I may put it in dialogue '"Hey Cade did you see that new nurse? He's only twenty and over six feet tall. But he's scrawny and looks like he could do with feeding up. You're a good cook aren't you?"'

As a reader I don't read the character descriptions much except to make sure I have a basic idea of whose the oldest/youngest and whose with whom. Except when I'm proofreading of course, then I have to remember all the details so I can make sure they stay the same all through the story. ;)

Hope this answered your question :)

• Like 3

Ever bothered how stories describe characters?

I read a lot that read out like a Grindr profile.

His height was 5'7", Age 28. Etcetera...

You know those? I just feel like there are better ways to go about someone descriptively. I mean, no one analyzes someone like that unless they're a robot. It just detaches from a character, I think. It's good for a bio but not in-story.

What about your thoughts, guys?

Any time I've tried to use a description as you the one you used, i get spanked by my editor! Haven't done it in a while.

When it comes to height and weight, if it's important, I'll use comparisons the the person who's POV I'm using (The guy was a tad shorter than I but weighed a hell of a lot more. And it was all muscle as far as I could tell, not flab.)