As a writer I'm fine with people guessing - not that it's difficult for them to make predictions. ;)  I'm not exactly good at subtle misdirection. :lol:

As a reader I love guessing, at least in some of the stories I read. I think I'm wrong as much as I'm right - although @Graeme once accused me of hacking his computer to read the notes for his Lilydale Leopard story. :lmao:  And of course he always refuses to comment on my speculations. 

The most difficult part is being the editor and knowing what will happen, because then you have to be really careful with your comments and avoid any hints.

• Like 3
  • Love 2

i often put small things in peculiar to one character or another. They just help make the character more interesting, we all have foibles, why not give them to your character. Not many pick up on them, but it's super when someone does.  Finn does in my latest story, James of Faris and James does; he has a couple actually. 

I like to listen to what people have to say and feel about stories. It's all good fun.

Do i rewrite for people? No. When i post my work it is finished. Read, edited and read again. No changes.

If they guess something they do.. it's fine. People are not stupid.

Frankly i am often amazed at the interesting questions and things they think up, they have some brilliant idea and questions.

As a reader, i don't really try to guess what's coming. I want the author to tell their story, show me what is going on. It's a journey they worked hard to bring to me, so i want them to have the satisfaction of showing me their story.

Nice topic, jp!!

• Like 4
  • Love 1
30 minutes ago, Mikiesboy said:

i often put small things in peculiar to one character or another. They just help make the character more interesting, we all have foibles, why not give them to your character. Not many pick up on them, but it's super when someone does.  Finn does in my latest story, James of Faris and James does; he has a couple actually.