Authors, how do you reply to comments by readers?

As a reader, I feel ignored if the author has not either Reacted or Replied to Comments on their story. While I appreciate getting a Reply on every Comment I make, I can understand why an author might choose to ignore one or more Comments. I believe a minimum effort should be Reacting to Comments to show that they’ve been noticed and read.

I’m sure I offended one author because I recently had trouble believing early- to mid-teenagers (acting like middle aged men) with access to tens of thousands of dollars in disposable income buying expensive, exotic, esoteric audio equipment, but said author has not even Reacted to anyone’s Comments to the story!

On 1/2/2019 at 6:27 PM, Headstall said:

As an author, I love interacting with readers, and as a reader, I love interacting with authors. Delving into a story I've written is rewarding for me, and I make sure never to shortchange any reader's interest. I relish hearing the thoughts and reactions to both the characters and the story. Yes, it can be hard work to respond sometimes, because I tend to get carried away and write a 'book' response, but it gives me great enjoyment. I consider comments my pay for countless hours trying to produce something better than readable, and the comments I give to other authors are my offerings of respect for the same effort they put in. As @Dodger says, it is the best part of posting stories and poetry online.

That's a really nice sentiment. It's really nice to think of comments as an exchange of respect for the work that goes into writing or reading a story. 

• Like 4
  • Love 1
On 1/2/2019 at 6:46 PM, Thorn Wilde said: